Serving Austin, Grimes, Walker and Waller Counties in South Central Texas


The Bluebonnet Groundwater Conservation District was created in 2001 by adoption of H.B. 3655 by the 77th Texas Legislature. The District was created in Austin, Grimes Walker, Waller and Washington counties subject to a confirmation of the District by the electorate in each county. In November, 2002 the District was confirmed in Austin, Grimes and Walker Counties and continues to serve those counties. The District was not confirmed in Waller or Washington Counties and those counties are no longer in the District service area.

In February of 2007 the Commissioners Court of Waller County adopted an Order requesting that the entire county of Waller be annexed into the District.  The annexation of Waller County into the District was approved by the District Board of Directors in July, 2007 and the voters of Waller County confirmed the annexation of the county into the District in November, 2007.  With this annexation the District became a four (4) county District with jurisdiction in Austin, Grimes, Walker and Waller Counties.

The District was created to provide a locally controlled groundwater district in order to protect and recharge groundwater, to prevent pollution or waste of groundwater, to control subsidence caused by withdrawal of water from the groundwater reservoirs in the area, and to regulate the transport of water out of the boundaries of the district.

The District has adopted the following mission statement: The Bluebonnet Groundwater Conservation District is committed to providing for the conservation, preservation, protection, recharging and prevention of waste of groundwater within the District by developing and implementing an efficient, economical and environmentally sound conservation program with full consideration and respect for the individual citizens of the District.

After the annexation of Waller County, the District is governed by a sixteen (16) member Board of Directors with four (4) Directors appointed to four (4) year terms by each of the Commissioners Courts of the three counties in the District. Each Director is appointed to represent one of four interest groups within the county. Those interest groups are: Municipal Interests, Agricultural Interests, Industrial Interests and Rural Water Supplier’s Interests.

The Board of Directors employs a General Manager for the District and delegates to the General Manager full authority to manage and operate the affairs of the District subject only to orders of the Board. The General Manager has full authority to employ all persons necessary for the proper handling of the business and operation of the district within the annual budget funding levels established by the Board. The Board contracts with professional corporations or individuals to provide auditing services, engineering services and legal services to the Board and District.

When the District started, administrative support, financial services and office space and equipment was provided through a contract with the Brazos Valley Council of Governments located in Bryan, Texas. In July of 2003, the District opened its own offices, staffed by District employees in Navasota, Texas. This office should accommodate the District for several years and is centrally located in the District in Grimes County.