BLUEBONNET GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT DIRECTORS MEETING TUESDAY, OCTOBER 16, 2001

MINUTES

ATTENDING	AGENCY
Jim Ward	BGWCD
Les Mauldin	BGWCD
David Minze	BGWCD
William A (Bill) Harris	BGWCD
Milton Beckendorff	BGWCD
Orval Rhoads	BGWCD
Jared Patout	BGWCD
Larry Winkelmann	BGWCD
Sharon Brandes	BGWCD
Frank Tressie	BGWCD
Shannon Roy Theeck	BGWCD
Glenn Huebner	BGWCD
James Morrison	BGWCD
Glenn Schroeter	BGWCD
Joe Sandell	BGWCD
Tommy Oates	BGWCD
Paul Isham	BGWCD
Michael Blezinger	BGWCD
Honorable Dorothy Morgan	Washington County
Tom Wilkinson	BVCOG
Robert Gresham	BVCOG
Lloyd Behm	BVCOG
Bill Dugat III	Bickerstaff

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order and opening remarks were made by Washington County Judge Dorothy Morgan.

2. Introduction and Seating of Directors

Washington County Judge Dorothy Morgan welcomed everyone, introduced guests, introduced Directors and make brief opening remarks. It was noted that Director Molly Fuller had called and was excused because of illness. Statements of Appointed Officials, Oaths of Office previously administered and Bonds were collected by Lloyd Behm. Judge Morgan administered the Oath of Office to those Directors who had not been administered this oath.

3. Approval of Directors Bonds

Since several Directors brought unsigned bonds, needing signature and notarization, these forms will be completed and the acceptance of Bonds placed on the agenda for the next Board meeting.

4. Briefing on the purpose of Groundwater Conservation Districts

Tom Wilkerson, Executive Director, Brazos Valley Council of Governments briefed the Board on the creation and purpose of Groundwater Conservation Districts.

5. Briefing by Attorney from Bickerstaff, Heath, Smiley, Pollen, Kever & McDaniel, LLP

Bill Dugat III Briefed the Directors on Open Meetings, Public Information (Open Records), Board duties and responsibilities and Director duties and responsibilities.

6. Determine Term of Office for Directors

A drawing by lot, by County was conducted by Lloyd Behm. The following terms of office were established for the directors: Austin County Directors: Milton Beckendorf, 2 year term; Michael Blezinger, 4 Year Term; Sharon Brandes, 2 year term; Glenn Huebner, 4 year term. Grimes County Directors: Molly Fuller, 2 year term; Jared Patout, 4 year term; William P Thomas Jr., 4 year term; Jim Ward, 2 year term; Walker County: Paul Isham, 2 year term; James Morrison, 4 year term; Tommy Oates, 2 year term; Joe B. Sandell, 4 year term. Waller County: Les Mauldin, 2 year term; David Minze, 2 year term; Orval Rhoads, 4 year term; Frank Tressie, 4 year term. Washington County: Bill Harris, 4 year term; Glenn Schroeter, 2 year term; Shannon Roy Theeck, 2 year term; Larry Winkelmann, 4 year term

7. Election of Board Officers

After remarks on the election of officers made by Tom Wilkinson and Bill Dugat III, James Morrison made a motion that the Board elect a temporary President and defer election of all other officers until a later date. Motion seconded by Bill Harris. Motion carried by a vote of 18 for, 0 against and 0 abstentions.

A motion to elect James Morrison Temporary President was made by Frank Tressie and Seconded by David Minze. Motion carried by a vote of 18 for, 0 against and 0 abstentions.

8. Determine regular meeting place, date and time

After discussion of meeting options, a motion to hold the next meeting of the Board in Navasota at 6:30 PM on the 3rd Tuesday of November and to hold the December meeting on December 11th at 6:30 PM in Navasota with the place of these meeting to be determined by the BVCOG Staff, was made by James Morrison and seconded by David Minze. Motion carried by a vote of 18 for, 0 against and 0 abstentions.

9. Discuss need for special meeting

Discussion was that a special meeting was not necessary.

10. Adjourn

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Shannon Theeck and seconded by Frank Tressie. Motion carried by a vote of 18 for, 0 against and 0 abstentions.